Full Schedule Set for CHL Finals

By: Wichita Thunder Email
By: Wichita Thunder Email

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

The 2012 Ray Miron President’s Cup Finals Schedule was announced this afternoon as the Berry Conference Champion Wichita Thunder will take on the Turner Conference Champion Fort Wayne Komets in a best-of-seven series beginning Saturday night at INTRUST Bank Arena.

Wichita finished the regular season with a 44-19-3 record (91 points), earning home-ice advantage throughout the playoffs. With the most points in the regular season, Wichita claimed the Bud Poile Governors’ Cup and was the number one seed overall. The Thunder got to the CHL Finals by beating Rio Grande Valley in five games in the opening round. In the Berry Conference Finals, the Thunder defeated the Texas Brahmas in six games, winning the final two games of the series in overtime. The Thunder has been led by Thomas Beauregard, who has 13 points (4g, 9a), and Alex Bourret (5g, 7a) and Chris Chappell (4g, 8a) each have 12 points during the playoffs.

Fort Wayne finished the regular season in first place in the Turner Conference with a 40-19-7 record (87 points). The Komets battled through a tough series with Rapid City, clinching their opening round in six games. In the Turner Conference Finals, Fort Wayne beat Missouri in seven and advanced last night to take on Wichita. The Komets are led by Chris Auger, who has 15 points (6g, 9a) and Mike Vaskivuo’s 14 points (6g, 8a) during the post-season.

The trip to the Finals is the fourth for the Thunder, who won the CHL championship in 1994, 1995 and lost in the Finals in 1998.

This will be the first journey to the CHL Finals for the Komets who have eight championships under their belt in other leagues (seven in the International Hockey League and one in the United Hockey League). Prior to joining the CHL in 2010, the Komets had won three straight IHL titles (2008, 2009 and 2010).

Both teams are celebrating milestone seasons as it is the 60th campaign for Fort Wayne and the 20th for Wichita. This season is also the 20th Anniversary for the Central Hockey League.

The series will follow a 2-3-2 format with games one, two, six and seven taking place in the Air Capital at INTRUST Bank Arena.

President's Cup Finals- Series "G" (best-of-seven)

Wichita Thunder vs. Fort Wayne Komets

Game 1 – Sat, Apr. 28 – Fort Wayne at Wichita, 7:05 PM
Game 2 – Sun, Apr. 29 – Fort Wayne at Wichita, 5:05 PM
Game 3 – Thurs., May 3rd Wichita at Fort Wayne, 7:30 PM
Game 4 – Sat., May 5th – Wichita at Fort Wayne, 8:15 PM
*Game 5 – Mon., May 7th – Wichita at Fort Wayne, 7:30 PM
*Game 6 – Fri., May 11th – Fort Wayne at Wichita, 7:05 PM
*Game 7 – Sat., May 12th – Fort Wayne at Wichita, 7:05 PM

* If necessary

**All times local, Wichita is CST, Fort Wayne is EST

***All Thunder games are broadcast live on 92.7 KWME and 1550 KKLE

Tickets are on sale now and going fast! For more information, call 755-SEAT, visit the INTRUST Bank Arena Box office or go online at www.selectaseat.com .

Wichita Thunder season tickets for 2012-13 are now on sale. A $50 dollar non-refundable deposit is required for all season tickets. Contact the Wichita Thunder Monday-Friday, 9 a.m.-5 p.m. at (316) 264-4625 if you are interested in season tickets, or visit the fan relations table behind section 120 at any Wichita Thunder home game.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 149269075 - kake.com/a?a=149269075