Wichita, Mulvane Students Win Gore Scholarships

By: KAKE News Email
By: KAKE News Email

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

January 31, 2013

Kansas high school students Amanda Johnson and Reegan Innes have won Wichita State University's Harry Gore Memorial Scholarships.

And in a surprise announcement, WSU Foundation President Elizabeth King said the value of the scholarships would increase from $48,000 per student to $52,000. Innes and Johnson will receive $13,000 a year for four years to attend Wichita State.

Johnson is a senior at Wichita Northwest, and Innes is a senior at Mulvane High School.

The scholarships, awarded annually at Wichita State, recognize leadership and academic skills and are two of the largest undergraduate scholarships in Kansas.

Johnson is interested in studying finance at Wichita State.

She is vice president of Youth Entrepreneurship of DECA, an international association of marketing students, and placed first at the state DECA competition.

Johnson is active with the National Honor Society, is sports editor and reporter for the Northwest Explorer, and is a four-year varsity competitor and two-year state track and field qualifier.

Innes is interested in studying elementary education at WSU.

She is president of her school's Thespian Club and is a member of the Kansas Association of Youth, Students Against Destructive Decisions and National Honor Society.

Innes was chosen from her class to attend a leadership camp for HOBY – a national youth leadership development organization.

She is a member of her church praise band, is a varsity show choir member and is a member of the student council.

Innes has participated in several mission trips to Kansas City, Alabama and New Mexico, where she helped repair homeless shelters, prepared meals and cleaned up schools.

Johnson and Innes competed in the largest Distinguished Scholarship Invitationals in history, with 413 competitors.

To be invited to compete in the invitational, students must have a 24 or higher ACT score and a minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA.

Gore scholarships have been awarded annually since 1954 to freshmen entering WSU who display outstanding potential for leadership. Theodore and Ralph Gore established the Harry Gore Memorial Scholarship in 1952.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 189250121 - kake.com/a?a=189250121
Gray Television, Inc.