USDA Declares Drought Declaration For 20 More Kansas Counties

By: KAKE News Email
By: KAKE News Email

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

September 23, 2011

Kansas Governor Sam Brownback has received notice U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Secretary Tom Vilsack has granted his request that the USDA issue a disaster declaration for 20 additional counties in Kansas because of drought, excessive heat and high winds.

The counties included in the declaration are Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Chase, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Coffey, Crawford, Elk, Ellsworth, Greenwood, Labette, Linn, Lyon, Montgomery, Neosho, Pawnee, Rush, Wilson and Woodson Counties.

The declaration also applies to 19 contiguous disaster counties: Barton, Butler, Cowley, Edwards, Ellis, Franklin, Hodgeman, Lincoln, Marion, McPherson, Miami, Morris, Ness, Osage, Rice Russell, Saline, Stafford and Wabaunsee Counties.

An agricultural disaster declaration makes farm operators in both primary and contiguous counties eligible for emergency loans administered by USDA’s Farm Service Agency, as well as any other aid that may be available through the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program. Those in eligible counties have eight months to apply for emergency loan assistance.

The 46 Kansas counties for which the USDA has already issued drought disaster declarations, at the recommendation of Governor Brownback in previous two requests, include Barber, Barton, Butler, Clark, Comanche, Cowley, Edwards, Ellis, Finney, Ford, Gove, Graham, Grant, Gray, Greeley, Hamilton, Harper, Harvey, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearny, Kingman, Lane, Lincoln, Logan, Meade, Morton, Ness, Norton, Phillips, Reno, Rice, Russell, Sedgwick, Scott, Seward, Sheridan, Sherman, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, Sumner, Thomas, Trego, Wallace and Wichita counties.

Kansas farmers living in the counties under federal declarations who believe they may qualify for assistance should contact their local Farm Service Agency office for further information.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 130441898 -