TOPEKA, Kan. (KAKE) - The June 12-13 KSHSAA Executive Board Meeting approved several changes to postseason formats and championship sites for Kansas high school sports.

The KSHSAA said that starting in March of 2026, high school basketball state tournaments will move to four facilities that will be determined after the 2024-2025 season finishes. 

In a release they said in part:

"Another basketball postseason change effective with the 2024-25 season will come at the 3A, 2A, 1A DI and 1A DII classifications. Each class will be divided into four regions and then seeded into two sub-states within the region: Substate A: 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 12, 13, 16; Substate B: 2, 3, 6, 7, 10, 11, 14, 15. The winner of each substate will advance to the state basketball tournament. Further format details and dates will be sent to member schools."

High school football championships will move to three sites with three games played at each site. 

The following sites have been chosen for 2024:

Emporia State University:
Class 6A = Friday, November 29 at 2:00pm
Class 4A = Saturday, November 30 at 1:00pm
Class 5A = Saturday, November 30 at 7:00pm
Hutchinson Community College:
Class 2A = Friday, November 29 at 6:00pm
Class 3A = Saturday, November 30 at 12:00pm
Class 1A = Saturday, November 30 at 5:00pm
Kiowa County High School, Greensburg:
Class 8-player DII = Saturday, November 30 at 11:00am
Class 6-Player = Saturday, November 30 at 3:00pm
Class 8-Player DI = Saturday, November 30 at 7:00pm

The high school girl's wrestling state tournament will be held from February 28 - March 1 of 2025 and will include four classes which requires another championship site.

KSHSAA said that 6A, 5A, 4A and 3-1A will all have their own site to determine a champion, 3-1A state wrestling will take place in Hays and 4A in Salina, and 6A or 5A will be in Park City Arena or one other location to be determined later.