(KAKE) - Governor Laura Kelly has approved updated drought declarations for Kansas counties through a proclamation.

“While drought conditions have improved in some areas of the state, many counties continue to be negatively impacted by the decline in water supply or strains on water resources,” said Governor Laura Kelly. “I strongly encourage all Kansans to continue to conserve water over the summer months.”

The drought declaration placed four counties into emergency status, 35 into warning status, and 66 into watch status. While Eastern Kansas has seen significant relief from drought since March, central and western Kansas has declined rapidly into severe and, in a few counties, extreme drought.

“The counties in a watch status are experiencing conditions that indicate the probability of a water shortage is rising. It is important to monitor these conditions and be mindful of water usage in these counties,” said Owen. “Summer has arrived, and with it, higher temperatures and a decrease in precipitation. The Governor’s Drought Response Team will continue to monitor the drought conditions across Kansas and make recommendations to Governor Kelly as conditions change.”

Ness, Rush, Pawnee and Hodgeman Counties, which are in the emergency stage, are eligible for emergency water use from certain state fishing lakes and some federal reservoirs. Individuals and communities must contact the Kansas Water Office for a water supply request before any withdrawals from lakes.

The proclamation will be in effect for those counties identified until rescinded by a proclamation ending the declaration or revising the drought stage status of the affected counties.