President Declares Disaster For Kansas Following Summer Storms

By: KAKE News - Email
By: KAKE News - Email

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

President Barack Obama has declared a disaster for Kansas following storms that tore through the state last summer.

Today, FEMA announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to the state to supplement recovery efforts for counties affected by severe storms earlier this year. Straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding impacted parts of Kansas from July 22 through August 16.

The declaration makes federal funding available to the state and eligible local governments as well as certain private nonprofit organizations for emergency work and repair or replacement of facilities.

The counties included in the declaration are Barber, Barton, Bourbon, Butler, Chase, Cherokee, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Crawford, Dickinson, Edwards, Elk, Ellsworth, Ford, Geary, Greenwood, Hamilton, Harper, Harvey, Hodgeman, Kingman, Kiowa, Lane, Linn, Lyon, Marion, McPherson, Meade, Montgomery, Morris, Ness, Ottawa, Pawnee, Pratt, Reno, Republic, Rice, Saline, Sumner, Washington, Wilson and Woodson.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 228940001 -
Gray Television, Inc.