President Declares Disaster For Kansas Winter Storm

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

June 24, 2009

President Barack Obama has issued a major disaster declaration for Kansas to help cover costs from a powerful winter storm in late March.

The declaration makes federal funding available to state and
local governments and some nonprofit groups for emergency work and
facilities repair. Those counties getting help include Butler,
Chase, Chautauqua, Coffey, Cowley, Dickinson, Elk, Grant,
Greenwood, Harvey, Lyon, Marion, Sumner and Woodson.

Help is also available for snow removal and other emergency
costs incurred in 19 counties. They are: Barber, Barton, Clark,
Comanche, Edwards, Grant, Haskell, Kearny, Kingman, Kiowa,
McPherson, Meade, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Seward, Stafford, Stanton and

Federal money is also available statewide on a cost-sharing
basis for hazard mitigation measures.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 49040786 -