Andres Weakens To Tropical Storm, Back Out To Sea

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email
More Video...

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

Wednesday, June 24, 2009

Forecasters have canceled a tropical storm warning for part of the Mexican coast but are warning people on Baja California to prepare for Tropical Storm Andres.

The U.S. National Hurricane Center ended the warning early Wednesday morning for the coast from Manzanillo to Cabo Corrientes.

Andres was briefly a hurricane Tuesday but is weakening. It's heading back out to sea, but forecasters warned it could brush the southern tip of the peninsula.
At 2 a.m. PDT (5 a.m. EDT, 0900 GMT), the center of the storm was located about 90 miles (145 kilometers) southwest of Cabo Corrientes and 315 miles (505 km) southeast of the tip of Baja California.

It was moving to the northwest about 9 mph (15 kmh) and its winds were about 60 mph (95 kmh).


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 49007941