Kansas lawmaker files bill to end the time change cycle

Posted: Updated:
MGN Online MGN Online
TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) -

A Kansas lawmaker has filed a bill to exempt the state from the twice-a-year time change cycle. 

Republican Rep. Kristey Williams of Augusta wants to make daylight saving time the permanent standard time for the state of Kansas. That would mean more daylight hours November through March. 

House Bill 2422 says, "Commencing after 2 o'clock antemeridian on the first Sunday of November after the effective date of this act, all areas of the state of Kansas shall observe central daylight saving time.

Rep. Williams filed a similar bill in January of last year. 

A recent national poll from the Associated Press-NORC Center for Public Affairs Research shows about 70% of Americans would prefer a more permanent time zone, though they're split on whether that should be Standard Time or Daylight Saving Time.

"Our bodies are very much in tune to what's going on with the sun," said Dr. Amy Seery.  

Like many doctors, Seery says the evidence is mounting that while the time change may be annoying to many, for some it's a serious health risk.

"Even though we may all agree for a time change, try telling that to little children and infants. Just when you get their sleep schedules set, one of these suckers comes along.  It's very detrimental to the health of a parent," Dr. Seery said.  

As for teens and adults, she added, "We know that when these time changes occur, it can have negative impacts on people already prone to mental health or defects."

That's not to mention the increased risks of stroke or heart attack, car crashes, and workplace accidents in the week or two immediately after a time change.  

More about Daylight Saving Time:

1784: The idea of daylight saving is first conceived by Benjamin Franklin.

1914-1918: Britain goes on DLS during World War I.

March 19, 1918: The Standard Time Act establishes time zones and daylight saving. Daylight saving is repealed in 1919 but continues to be recognized in certain areas of the United States.

1945-1966: There is no federal law regarding Daylight Saving Time.

1966: The Uniform Time Act of 1966 establishes the system of uniform Daylight Saving Time throughout the United States. The dates are the last Sunday in April to the last Sunday in October. States can exempt themselves from participation.

1974-1975: Congress extends DLS in order to save energy during the energy crisis.

1986-2006: Daylight Saving Time begins on the first Sunday in April and ends on the last Sunday in October.

Aug. 8, 2005: President George W. Bush signs the Energy Policy Act of 2005 into law. Part of the act will extend Daylight Saving Time starting in 2007, from the second Sunday in March to the first Sunday in November.

2007: Under the new laws, all of Indiana now observes Daylight Saving Time, where only certain areas of the state did before.

Exceptions in the United States

— In the United States, Hawaii and most of Arizona do not follow DLS.

— The U.S. territories of Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands and American Samoa also do not observe DLS.

What countries follow Daylight Saving Time?

— About 70 countries around the world observe DLS.

— Many countries near the equator do not adjust their clocks for daylight saving.

— Neither China nor Japan observes DLS.

— Some countries refer to “Daylight Saving Time” as “Summer Time.”

CNN contributed to this report.

Check out these photos from across KAKEland snapped by our viewers, staff and local officials. Do you have pictures to share with us? Email them to news@kake.com.