KAKE named KAB Station Of The Year

Posted: Updated:

KAKE-TV has been named 2019 Large Market Station of the Year by the Kansas Association of Broadcasters. Additionally, KAKE received nine first-place awards, five for second place and four honorable mentions.


  • Single Topic Event News CoverageMay Flooding - KAKE News
  • Weathercast:  Severe Weather Alert Day - Jay Prater, Cat Taylor, Tony Laubach
  • SportscastFriday Football Blitz: Playoffs - Chris Lilly, Austin Clift
  • Station Websitekake.com - Paul Meister, KAKE News staff
  • Special ProgramA Merry KAKEland Christmas - Jennifer Day
  • Commercial Series:  Lucinda's - Tim May, Safiya Woodard, Aaron Lair
  • Station Promotion AnnouncementMissing In Kansas National Awareness - Aaron Lair
  • Commercial, Any Length:  Visit Hays (KGBD) - Aaron Lair
  • Commercial Series:  McPherson Downtown (KHDS) - Safiya Woodard


  • Prime Newscast:  KAKE News at 4 - Jennifer Day, KAKE News Team
  • Hard News Feature/Enterprise StorySegregation & Obesity - Pilar Pedraza, KAKE News Investigates
  • Sports Feature:  Friendship Meals - Scott Braswell
  • Station Promotion CampaignBlack History Month - Safiya Woodard
  • Commercial, Any Length:  Eisenhower Museum "Leader" (KHDS) - Tim May
  • Commercial Series:  Visit Salina (KHDS) - Safiya Woodard, Aaron Lair


  • AM/Midday Newscast:  Good Morning Kansas - Chris Hunter, Alyson Acklin, Shane Ewing, Frank Waugh
  • In-Depth News ReportingKids In Cuffs - KAKE News Investigates
  • Station Promotion AnnouncementKAKE News On Your Side Investigates - Jerone Hunter, Aaron Lair, John Sweeney
  • Commercial Series:  Great Bend (KGBD) - Safiya Woodard

Check out these photos from across KAKEland snapped by our viewers, staff and local officials. Do you have pictures to share with us? Email them to news@kake.com.