President grants disaster declaration for 18 Kansas counties

Posted: Updated:

President Donald Trump has granted a request for an emergency federal disaster declaration from Governor Laura Kelly for 18 Kansas counties.

A press release from the office of the Governor said the counties included are: Anderson, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Coffey, Cowley, Crawford, Elk, Franklin, Greenwood, Harvey, Montgomery, Neosho, Osage, Reno, Sumner, Wilson, and Woodson.

Additional counties may be added to the list if requested by the state and deemed necessary.

An emergency declaration provides aid to efforts required to save lives and protect the health and safety of the public, or to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe through direct federal assistance for emergency protective measures. 

Governor Kelly had listed a total of 46 counties in her initial request.

Check out these photos from across KAKEland snapped by our viewers, staff and local officials. Do you have pictures to share with us? Email them to