Daylight saving time starts Sunday. This bill could make it permanent.

Posted: Updated:
MGN Online MGN Online

It’s almost time the set clocks ahead and lose an hour of sleep again. That means it's almost time for many of us to complain about daylight saving time again. 

But Florida GOP Senator Marco Rubio feels your pain and has marked Sunday's "spring forward" by reintroducing a bill to make daylight saving time permanent. 

The Sun Sentinel reports that the Sunshine Protection Act would make DST permanent across the country.

“Studies have shown many benefits of a year-round daylight saving time, which is why Florida’s Legislature overwhelmingly voted to make it permanent last year. Reflecting the will of the State of Florida, I’m proud to reintroduce this bill to make Daylight Saving Time permanent nationally,” Rubio said.

Bill would exempt Kansas from observing daylight saving

Rubio introduced the same last year, but it didn’t advance in the Senate Commerce Committee. Sen. Rick Scott, R-Fla., and U.S. Rep. Vern Buchanan, R-Longboat Key are also sponsoring the bill.

Read more here

Daylight Saving Timeline

1784: The idea of daylight saving is first conceived by Benjamin Franklin.

1914-1918: Britain goes on DLS during World War I.

March 19, 1918: The Standard Time Act establishes time zones and daylight saving. Daylight saving is repealed in 1919 but continues to be recognized in certain areas of the United States.

1945-1966: There is no federal law regarding Daylight Saving Time.

1966: The Uniform Time Act of 1966 establishes the system of uniform Daylight Saving Time throughout the United States. The dates are the last Sunday in April to the last Sunday in October. States can exempt themselves from participation.

1974-1975: Congress extends DLS in order to save energy during the energy crisis.

1986-2006: Daylight Saving Time begins on the first Sunday in April and ends on the last Sunday in October.

Aug. 8, 2005: President George W. Bush signs the Energy Policy Act of 2005 into law. Part of the act will extend Daylight Saving Time starting in 2007, from the second Sunday in March to the first Sunday in November.

2007: Under the new laws, all of Indiana now observes Daylight Saving Time, where only certain areas of the state did before.

Exceptions in the United States

— In the United States, Hawaii and most of Arizona do not follow DLS.

— The U.S. territories of Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands and American Samoa also do not observe DLS.

What countries follow Daylight Saving Time?

— About 70 countries around the world observe DLS.

— Many countries near the equator do not adjust their clocks for daylight saving.

— Neither China nor Japan observes DLS.

— Some countries refer to “Daylight Saving Time” as “Summer Time.”