Cincinnati's Clark named AAC Player of the Year, Sampson named Coach of the Year

Posted: Updated:

Cincinnati's Gary Clark is the American Athletic Conference's Player of the Year. The senior forward becomes the first player in AAC history to earn three individual awards in the same season.

Clark, who is also the league's Defensive Player of the Year and the Sportsmanship Award winner, is just the fifth player in Bearcat history with more than 1,000 career points and 1,000 career rebounds.

Houston head coach Kelvin Sampson is the league's Coach of the Year. The Cougar lead man had UH ranked in both the Coaches and AP Polls at the same time for the first time since the end of the Phi Slama Jama era.

ECU's Shawn Williams was named the conference's Rookie of the Year.

Wichita State's Landry Shamet and Shaq Morris were named to the league's first team earlier this week.

The No. 2 seed Shockers will play the winner of the Tulane/Temple game in the AAC Tournament quarterfinals on Friday at 6 p.m. on ESPNU.