Johnson Wins Watkins Glen Pole

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

August 7, 2009

Jimmie Johnson has won the Sprint Cup
pole at Watkins Glen International.

Johnson turned a lap at 123.633 mph in 71.34 seconds to earn the
first road course pole of his career in a qualifying effort.
Johnson edged Kurt Busch, who turned at lap at 123.619 mph and
71.35 seconds. Denny Hamlin was third at 123.093 mph and 71.65
seconds for Sunday's race at The Glen.

Marcos Ambrose of Tasmania was fourth, followed by David
Stremme, Ryan Newman, Greg Biffle, Kyle Busch, Boris Said and Juan
Pablo Montoya.

Casey Mears was 11th, Kasey Kahne 12th and points leader Tony
Stewart 13th. Four-time Glen winner Jeff Gordon will go off 31st,
one spot ahead of Dale Earnhardt Jr. It's the worst qualifying
effort of Gordon's career at The Glen.

Because of four rainouts in qualifying in the past five years,
this was the first time the COT was used in qualifying at Watkins

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 52691327 -