WSU's Orukpe Honored as MVC Scholar-Athlete

By: Shocker Athletics Email
By: Shocker Athletics Email

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

Wichita State's Ehimen Orukpe highlights a list of 13 student-athletes honored as part of the 2013 MVC Scholar-Athlete Teams, announced today by the league office.

Orukpe is joined on the first-team unit by Colt Ryan of Evansville, Jordan Clarke of Drake, Walt Lemon, Jr., of Bradley, Nathan Scheer of Missouri State, and Ethan Wragge of Creighton.


The second-team unit consists of Jake Eastman of Bradley, Lucas Eitel and Justin Gant of Indiana State, Jon Ekey of Illinois State, Christian Kirk of Missouri State, and Austin Pehl and Chip Rank of UNI.


The criteria for the Missouri Valley Conference's Scholar-Athlete Team voting parallels the CoSIDA (College Sports Information Directors of America) standards for Capital One Academic All-America voting.

Nominees must be starters or important reserves with at least a 3.20 cumulative grade-point average (4.0 scale). Student-athletes must have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing at their institution (true freshmen and redshirt freshmen were not eligible) and must have completed at least one full academic year at their institution. He must have played in 75 percent of his team's games, or played in the MVC Championship this past week.

Voting for the 2013 MVC Scholar-Athlete Team was conducted by league's sports information directors.


Jordan Clarke, Drake

Walt Lemon, Jr., Bradley

Ehimen Orukpe, Wichita State

Colt Ryan, Evansville

Nathan Scheer, Missouri State

Ethan Wragge, Creighton


Jake Eastman, Bradley

Lucas Eitel, Indiana State

Jon Ekey, Illinois State

Justin Gant, Indiana State

Christian Kirk, Missouri State

Austin Pehl, UNI

Chip Rank, UNI

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 197210411 -