Thunder Announce Ray Miron President’s Cup Finals Schedule

By: Wichita
By: Wichita

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

April 23, 2013

Wichita will be on the road to start the series for Games 1 and 2 beginning a week from tonight. The series will follow a 2-2-1-1-1 format.

Wichita enters as the number two seed while Allen finished number one overall. This is the first-ever meeting between the two franchises in the post-season. Wichita went 4-4-1 against the Americans this season and 3-1-0 at home. Chad Painchaud leads the Thunder in scoring against the Americans, recording 11 points (6g, 5a) in eight games. Ian Lowe registered 10 points (7g, 3a) in nine games against Allen, scoring three power play goals. Torrie Jung was solid in his six games against Allen during the regular season, going 3-2-0 in six starts with a goals against average of 2.92 and save percentage of .910.

Allen is led by Anthony Maiani, who had 11 points (3g, 8a) against Wichita this season. Trevor Ludwig (3g, 3a) and Jason Deitsch (2g, 4a) each had six points in nine games. Aaron Dell was also solid in between the pipes for the Americans, going 3-3-0 in six games with a goals against average of 2.42 and a save percentage of .910.

Wichita returns to the CHL Finals after losing last season in five games to the Fort Wayne Komets. Overall, this will be the Thunder’s fifth Finals appearance and the second time in franchise history the team has made back-to-back trips to the championship round. The Thunder is coming off its third sweep in franchise history after defeating the Fort Worth Brahmas in the CHL Semifinals. Wichita also earned a sweep in its opening round series against the Arizona Sundogs, which tied a CHL record for the longest winning streak in a playoff season that dates back to 1999 by Oklahoma City. The WPHL’s Lubbock Cotton Kings also won eight-straight playoff games in 2001. Including the last two games of the regular season, Wichita has won 10-straight which set a new franchise record for the longest winning streak.

Allen enters the CHL Finals after winning a hard fought seven-game series over Missouri four games to three and claiming Game 7 tonight by the final of 7-3. The Americans won the Bud Poile Governor’s Cup, which is awarded to the team with the most points during the regular season and just one point ahead of Wichita for the top overall seed. The Americans began the playoffs with a three games to one win over the Denver Cutthroats. This is the second Finals appearance in the last four years for Allen, losing to Rapid City in the 2010 Finals four games to two.

Ray Miron President’s Cup Finals – Series ‘G’ (best-of-7)

Allen Americans vs. Wichita Thunder
Game 1 – Tuesday, April 30th – Wichita at Allen, 7:05 p.m.
Game 2 – Thursday, May 2nd – Wichita at Allen, 7:05 p.m.
Game 3 – Saturday, May 4th – Allen at Wichita, 7:05 p.m.
Game 4 – Sunday, May 5th – Allen at Wichita, 5:05 p.m.
*Game 5 –Tuesday, May 7th – Wichita at Allen, 7:05 p.m.
*Game 6 – Friday, May 10th – Allen at Wichita, 7:05 p.m.
*Game 7 – Saturday, May 11th – Wichita at Allen, 7:05 p.m.
(All times Central)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 204403531 -
Gray Television, Inc.