NCAA Giving Refs Leeway On Calling Elbows To The Head

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

May 9, 2013

The NCAA is giving referees leeway in how they deal with players who inadvertently elbow an opponent above the shoulders.

Pending approval by the Playing Rules Oversight Committee next month, referees who call an elbow to the head will be allowed to use a video monitor to determine the severity of the blow. If deemed inadvertent, the referee could call a player-control foul or nothing.

Previously, a referee was required to call a flagrant-1 or flagrant-2.

A flagrant-1 results in two free throws and possession for the offended team. A flagrant-2 results adds an ejection of the offending player.

Some coaches have been critical of the severity of the rule, implemented in 2011-12 to protect players from head injuries. The changes would be for both men's and women's games


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 206835621