AP Chooses KU's Wright to 1st Team All Big 12

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (AP) -- Kevin Durant of Texas and Texas A&M
point guard Acie Law are unanimous first-team selections to The Associated Press All-Big 12 men's basketball team.

Joining them on the first team are sophomore Julian Wright of regular-season champion Kansas, Texas Tech senior Jarrius Jackson and Oklahoma State senior Mario Boggan.

The team was selected by a panel of media representatives who
regularly cover the Big 12.

The six-foot-nine Durant is the only player in the country ranking in the top ten nationally in both scoring and rebounding. He's a leading candidate for national player of the year and could be the overall number-one selection in the N-B-A draft next summer if he decides to turn pro.

At Kansas in the regular-season finale title showdown, he scored
32 points and raised his season average in conference games to a
Big 12-record 28.9. He also set the record for rebounds in
conference games with a per game average of 12.5.

The AP Awards were almost identical to the coaches awards. Texas A&M's Billy Gillispie was chosen as the Big 12 coach of the

Other winners of individual awards included Mario Chalmers of
Kansas and Marcus Dove of Oklahoma State, who shared the defensive player of the year honor; Stefhon Hannah of Missouri, named the newcomer of the year; and Cartier Martin of Kansas State, who received the league's inaugural sixth-man award.

The league's six-man first-team all-conference list included
Durant, Julian Wright and Brandon Rush of Kansas, Mario Boggan of
O-S-U, Acie Law of Texas A&M and Jarrius Jackson of Texas Tech.

The Associated Press will announce its coach of the year on Tuesday and its player, newcomer and freshman of the year on Wednesday.

KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 6311762 - kake.com/a?a=6311762
Gray Television, Inc.