Wedge Named AL Manager Of The Year

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

NEW YORK (AP) -- A couple of former backup catchers are
baseball's managers of the year. Cleveland's Eric Wedge is the
American League recipient, with the National League honor going to
Arizona's Bob Melvin.
Wedge is the first Indians skipper to capture the postseason
award. And he was a runaway winner, receiving 19 of 28 first-place
votes from the baseball writers after his club tied Boston for the
best record in baseball. The Red Sox beat his Indians in a
seven-game AL championship series. Wedge, who guided the Indians to a 96-and-66 record and their first playoff appearance since 2001,
finished ahead of the Angels' Mike Scioscia (SOH'-shuh) and the
Yankees' Joe Torre.

Wedge played at WSU from 1987 to 1989. In 1989, he was an All America, and led the Shockers to the College World Series title.

Melvin won the NL prize for leading the young Arizona
Diamondbacks to the top mark in the league. He was chosen first on
19 of 30 ballots to easily outdistance Charlie Manuel of the
Phillies and the Rockies' Clint Hurdle.
Melvin led a team that sometimes started six rookies to a
90-and-72 finish.

  • The Associated Press contributed to this report.

  • Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
    powered by Disqus
    KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
    Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 11293086 -
    Gray Television, Inc.