Thursday, April 7, 2011
Golf has revised one of its rules so that players who are made aware of a violation after they have signed their scorecard can still get penalized without being disqualified.
The Royal & Ancient and USGA announced Thursday the new interpretation to Decision 33-7/4.5.
Padraig Harrington was disqualified at the Abu Dhabi Championship earlier this year when slow-motion replays on television revealed that his small had moved on the green ever so slightly after he replaced his marker. Because it was discovered after his round of 65, he was disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard.
The revision says that if a player was not aware of the rule, he still can get disqualified.
The change, announced an hour before the start of the Masters, is effective immediately.