North High Standout Makes National Team

By: Email
By: Email

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

March 24, 2011

Twenty-four of the nation’s top 16-and-under basketball standouts, including Wichita North's Conner Frankamp, have been named to the 2011-12 USA Basketball Men’s Developmental National Team, USA Basketball today announced. The 2011 USA U16 National Team and 2012 USA U17 World Championship Team, should the U.S. qualify for the U17 Worlds, will be comprised of USA Developmental National Team members. Invitations were issued by the USA Basketball Men’s Developmental National Team Committee.

Two-time USA Basketball Developmental Coach of the Year Don Showalter (Mid-Prairie High School, Iowa) returns for a second stint as the USA Developmental National Team head coach after guiding the USA to perfect records and gold medals at the 2010 FIBA U17 World Championship and 2009 FIBA Americas U16 Championship. Showalter will be assisted over the next two years by Rich Gray (St. Louis Eagles AAU, Mo.) and Mike Jones (DeMatha High School, Md.).

“We’re pretty familiar with 18 of the kids and the majority of them have had really good high school years with their varsity teams,” said Showalter. “The difference from last fall to this year will be significant. We’ll be able to see a big difference in their mental and physical abilities, their mental toughness, from last fall. So, I’m really looking forward to those 18 coming in and seeing how much they’ve improved.

“Then we’ll have six more kids who weren’t with us last fall, but who have had really good years. You try and get the best group you can and these guys really stepped up to the plate during their high school seasons. I think that’s why the committee chose them to come in for the training camp.

“I’m looking forward to this. We’ve got kids who can play multiple positions. We have some good shot blockers there who we can take a hard look at. They’re all good athletes, they run the court really well. We like to put points on the board and I think this group can do that.”

The 18 athletes named to the 2011-12 USA Developmental National Team who participated in the 2010 USA mini-camp include: Shaqquan Aaron (Mater Dei H.S. / Apple Valley, Calif.); Larry Austin (Lamphier H.S. / Springfield, Ill.); Anton Beard (Parkview Magnet School / Little Rock, Ark.); James Blackmon, Jr. (Bishop Leuers H.S. / Fort Wayne, Ind.); Dominique Collier (Denver East H.S. / Denver, Colo.); Stephen Domingo (St. Ignatius Prep / San Francisco, Calif.); Frankamp; Aaron Gordon (Arch Bishop Mitty H.S. / San Jose, Calif.); Dakari Johnson (St. Patrick H.S., N.J. / Brooklyn, N.Y.); Stanley Johnson (Mater Dei H.S. / Fullerton, Calif.); Tyus Jones (Apple Valley H.S. / Apple Valley, Minn.); Jahlil Okafor (Whitney Young H.S. / Chicago, Ill.); Jabari Parker (Simeon H.S. / Chicago, Ill.); Malik Price-Martin (Monsignor Edward Pace H.S. / Miami, Fla.); Theo Pinson (Oakridge Military Academy / Greensboro, N.C.); Jordan Swopshire (Fort Zumwalt South H.S. / Ofallon, Mo.); Charles Tucker (Lansing Eastern H.S. / Lansing, Mich.); and Johnathan Williams (Southwind H.S. / Memphis, Tenn.).

Also named to the 2011-12 USA squad were: Beejay Anya (DeMatha Catholic H.S. / Hyattsville, Md.); Trey Lyles (Arsenal Technical H.S. / Camby, Ind.); Kendrick Nunn (Simeon H.S. / Chicago, Ill.); Jimmie Taylor (Greensboro H.S. / Greensboro, Ala.); Paul White (Whitney Young H.S. / Chicago, Ill.); and Isaiah Whitehead (Lincoln H.S. / Brooklyn, N.Y.).

The official 12-member 2011 USA Men’s U16 National Team will be selected during training camp for the 2011-12 USA Developmental National Team, which will take place June 10-18 at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo. Players eligible for this competition must have been born on or after Jan. 1, 1995.

The 2011 FIBA Americas U16 Championship will be held July 21-25 in León, Mexico. Teams qualified for the eight-nation tournament include: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, United States, Venezuela and two still to be determined. The top three finishing teams will qualify for the 2012 FIBA U17 World Championship, scheduled for June 29 – July 12 in Lithuania.

The 24 players hail from 15 different states, with Illinois represented by a high of five players, followed by California with four and Indiana with two athletes. Alabama Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, New York, North Carolina and Tennessee are each represented by one player; while one player hails from New York, but competes in New Jersey.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 118590024 -
Gray Television, Inc.