WSU's Rainbolt Named Regional Coach Of The Year

By: Email
By: Email

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

June 4, 2012

Wichita State's Steve Rainbolt was named U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association Midwest Men's Coach of the Year, the USTFCCCA announced Monday.

Rainbolt is in his 12th season as Wichita State's Director of Track & Field and Cross Country.

The USTFCCCA announced its Region Athletes and Coaches of the Year for the 2012 NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field season, as voted by the nation's coaches.

Rainbolt guided the Shockers to a second-place finish at the Missouri Valley Conference Championships and coached two members of the men's team to individual titles, including Tomas Cotter in the 3,000-meter steeplechase and Dylan Hartnett in the 400 meters.

Nine men and the 4x400-meter relay squad competed for Wichita State at the NCAA West Preliminary Rounds. Todd McKown set the Wichita State school record there in the men's 110-meter hurdles with a time of 13.42.

Four Shocker men -- McKown, Cotter, Lawson Montgomery and Brett Trudo -- qualified for the NCAA Championships.

Wichita State will send a total of eight student-athletes to the NCAA Championships, which take place June 6-9 in Des Moines, Iowa.

Cotter will compete in the 3,000-meter steeplechase. McKown and Montgomery will run in the 110-meter hurdles. Brett Trudo will compete in the javelin. Tanya Friesen (heptathlon), J'Lynn Ledesma (high jump), Natalie Morerod (400-meter hurdles) and Aliphine Tuliamuk (5,000 meters and 10,000 meters) will also compete for Wichita State in Des Moines.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 157035485 -
Gray Television, Inc.