MU's Haith Named AP Coach Of The Year

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

March 30, 2012

Frank Haith has capped his first season at Missouri by being selected The Associated Press' Coach of the Year.

Haith took over the Tigers after seven years at Miami. He was
presented the award Friday after receiving 21 votes from the
65-member national media panel that selects the weekly Top 25.

Missouri won 30 games and the Big 12 tournament and was ranked
in the AP poll the entire season, reaching second for one week and
third in the final poll. The Tigers were a No. 2 seed in the NCAA
tournament but were knocked out in the first round by Norfolk
State. The voting was done before the NCAA tournament.

Haith is still dealing with aftermath of an NCAA investigation
into the program at Miami.

John Calipari of Kentucky and Tom Izzo of Michigan State tied
for second with 10 votes each.

The only other Missouri coach to win the award was Norm Stewart
in 1994.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 145165445 -