Eight Shockers Named All-Valley

By: Go Shockers.com Email
By: Go Shockers.com Email

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

May 20, 2013

Peterson, a relief pitcher from Savage, Minn., went 3-1 with nine saves and a 1.24 ERA to become the second Shocker in school history to earn the Newcomer-of-the-Year award. Preston Springer earned the award in 2010.

Sophomore catcher and third baseman Tyler Baker earned first team honors as the utility player, while junior pitcher Brandon Peterson earned first team honors as a relief pitcher. Baker, from Topeka, Kan., is hitting .324 with 10 doubles, three triples, four home runs and 41 RBI.

Sophomore first baseman Casey Gillaspie, junior outfielder Garrett Bayliff and junior pitcher Cale Elam all earned second team honors. Gillaspie, from Omaha, Neb., is hitting .303 with 14 doubles, one triple, nine home runs and 36 RBI, while Bayliff, from Tuttle, Okla., is hitting .381 with nine doubles, one triple, 32 RBI and 11 stolen bases. Elam, from Oktaha, Okla., is 6-3 with a 2.40 ERA in 82.1 innings pitched.

Three players were named to the honorable mention team including shortstop Erik Harbutz and relief pitchers Albert Minnis and Aaron LaBrie. Harbutz, from Wichita, Kan., is hitting .275 with 13 doubles, one triple and 31 RBI. Minnis, from Lawrence, Kan., is 3-2 with a save and a 2.70 ERA, while LaBrie, from Sioux Falls, S.D., is 4-1 with three saves and a 0.91 ERA.

Gillaspie and Bayliff were also named to the Valley All-Defensive Team.

First Team All-Conference

1B – Kyle Stanton, Illinois State
2B – Eric Cheray, Missouri State
SS – Brett Kay, Illinois State
3B - Zac Johnson, Illinois State
C – Mike Hollenbeck, Illinois State
DH – Greg Partyka, Bradley
UT – Tyler Baker, Wichita State
OF - Eric Aguilera, Illinois State
OF – Kevin Kaczmarski, Evansville
OF – Mike Tauchman, Bradley
SP – Nick Petree, Missouri State
SP – Chris Razo, Illinois State
SP – Dan Savas, Illinois State
RP – Brandon Peterson, Wichita State
RP – Jeremy Rhoades, Illinois State

Second Team All-Conference

1B – Casey Gillaspie, Wichita State
2B – Jake Peter, Creighton
SS – Alex Staehely, Creighton
3B – Koby Kraemer, Indiana State
C – Chris Pearson, Evansville
UT – Austin Montgomery, Southern Illinois
OF – Garrett Bayliff, Wichita State
OF – Keenen Maddox, Missouri State
OF – Tate Matheny, Missouri State
SP - Cody Forsythe, Southern Illinois
SP – Cale Elam, Wichita State
SP - Sean Manaea, Indiana State
SP – Kyle Lloyd, Evansville
RP - Todd Eaton, Southern Illinois
RP – Jake Naumann, Evansville

Honorable Mention

1B – Robby Ort, Indiana State
2B – Jake Welch, Southern Illinois
SS - Erik Harbutz, Wichita State
SS – Travis McComack, Missouri State
3B – Federico Castagnini, Creighton
C – Luke Voit, Missouri State
OF - Chad Hinshaw, Illinois State
OF – Jason Hockemeyer, Evansville
SP – Tommy Strunc, Creighton
RP – Tyler Dray, Southern Illinois
RP – Kurt Kudrecki, Indiana State
RP – Aaron LaBrie, Wichita State
RP – Albert Minnis, Wichita State
RP – Erik Shanahan, Missouri State

All-Defensive Team

1B – Casey Gillaspie, Wichita State
2B – Jake Peter, Creighton
SS – Brett Kay, Illinois State
3B – Koby Kraemer, Indiana State
C – Austin Jarvis, Bradley
OF – Mike Tauchman, Bradley
OF – Garrett Bayliff, Wichita State
OF - Chad Hinshaw, Illinois State
P - Nick Petree, Missouri State

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 208254471 - kake.com/a?a=208254471
Gray Television, Inc.