Collin Klein, Arthur Brown Named Big 12 Players Of The Year

By: KAKE Sports Email
By: KAKE Sports Email

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

December 5, 2012

Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein is the AP's Big 12 offensive player of the year and Devonte Fields of TCU picked up the honor on defense.

Klein received 14 of the 18 votes Wednesday from members of the media who regularly cover the league. West Virginia's Tavon Austin got three votes and Terrance Williams of Baylor received the other one.

Fields got seven first-place votes for the defensive award to beat out Kansas State's Arthur Brown, who received four. TCU's Jason Verrett, Iowa State's A.J. Klein and Oklahoma's Aaron Colvin and Tony Jefferson also received votes.

Klein and Brown were named Big 12 Players of the year by league coaches today. KSU's Meshak Williams was named defensive lineman of the year. Klein, Brown and Williams were named to the All Big 12 first team, along with teammates John Hubert, Travis Tannahill, Cornelius Lucas and Ty Zimmerman.

Wichita's Joseph Randle of Oklahoma State was also named to the first team.

Second team selections from the Wichita area include offensive lineman Blaize Foltz from TCU (Rose Hill), placekicker Anthony Cantele and receiver Chris Harper from Kansas State (Wichita), linebacker Ben Heeney (Hutchinson) and offensive lineman Tanner Hawkinson (McPherson) from Kansas.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 182200521 -
Gray Television, Inc.