Kansas Senate Dem Leader Longest-Serving Legislator

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

Saturday, December 29, 2012

Kansas Senate Minority Leader Anthony Hensley holds the record for the longest tenure in the state Legislature.

Hensley has been a legislator for 36 years, starting in the House from 1977 through 1992. He began serving in the Senate in 1993.

According to the State Library, the next-longest tenure belongs to Concordia Republican Ross Doyen, who served 34 years, starting in the House in 1959 and moving to the Senate in 1969.

Next with 32 years each in the Senate are Democrat Joe Warren of Maple Hill and Republican Joseph Harder of Moundridge. Warren left the Senate in 1988 and Harder, in 1992.

Among legislators who'll return in 2013, the most senior behind Hensley is incoming Senate President and Wichita Republican Susan Wagle, with 22 years.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 185158261 - kake.com/a?a=185158261
Gray Television, Inc.