In the time it takes to drive from Wichita to Kansas City, 6 Americans will be killed by drunk drivers. 95 will be injured.
Because of those statistics, the Kansas Highway Patrol and 80 law enforcement agencies across the state are launching a major campaign to rid the roads of drunk drivers. The penalties go beyond a ticket.
More than 21,000 people were arrested for DUIs during routine checkpoints in Kansas last year.
Kansas Highway Patrol Lt. Dennis Marten says, "Part of it is there is a greater awareness that we are out there and it's our job to keep people from drinking and driving."
That job will intensify over the next two weeks, thanks to a new state grant to fund special checkpoints
Lt. Marten says, "The penalties are severe and they need to understand that."
For first time offenders, 48 hours in jail, a mandatory alcohol education program, fines up to $1,000 and the loss of driving privileges.
A second offense means a year in jail and a $1,500 fine.
Strike three and you'll be charged with felony. Or worse, if you're to blame for a deadly accident like the one that took the life of Terri Washburn's son.
Terry says, "This is a terrible way to lose anyone you love, in an accident that could have been prevented."
Also starting July 1st, a judge could impound your car for up to a year and you will have to pay a storage fee, which could cost you at least $5,000.
Officials say the best way to avoid getting caught is not to drink and drive in the first place. Get a designated driver.