Disaster Declaration For Several Kansas Counties

By: News Release Email
By: News Release Email

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

November 11, 2009

U.S. Senator Pat Roberts today announced the United States Department of Agriculture’s disaster designations for several Kansas counties due to losses caused by high winds and hail that occurred from July 17, through September 3, 2009.

USDA designated Cheyenne, Rice and Sherman Counties as primary natural disaster areas, and Barton, Ellsworth, Logan, McPherson, Rawlins, Reno, Stafford, Thomas and Wallace Counties as contiguous disaster counties.

“I am pleased USDA reviewed the significant production losses and declared these counties as disaster areas,” Senator Roberts said. “This declaration makes the affected Kansas producers eligible for much needed assistance and for some, the assistance is what will keep them in business.”

This designation makes farm operators in both primary and contiguous counties eligible to be considered for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), including FSA emergency loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program depending on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Affected farmers should contact their local FSA office for more information: http://www.fsa.usda.gov/ks/ .

Senator Roberts is a senior member of the Senate Agriculture Committee.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 69604727 - kake.com/a?a=69604727