Wednesday, September 18, 2013
Traffic crashes happen. Sometimes they're avoidable, other times they're not.
They affect not only those involved in the accidents, but also the commuters stuck in the traffic tie-ups that often follow.
Back in 2009, the Kansas legislature addressed the issue of safety pertaining to traffic jams on highways and passed the Move It Law. The only problem is that a lot of Kansas drivers are unaware of it
Today, the Wichita Police Department, Wichita Fire Department and Kansas Highway Patrol issued a reminder about the law that went into effect on July 1, 2009.
The law states that if you're involved in a non-injury crash on any interstate highway, U.S. highway as well as any multi-lane or divided highway (and if your car is still drivable), you are to move the vehicle off the roadway. It's not necessary to wait for emergency responders.
That law applies to several areas in Wichita, specifically Kellogg, where non-injury accidents often occur. It also applies to I-135 and I-235.
If you are able to move your car but don't, you could face a $75 fine and $98 in court costs.