Dept. of Commerce selects south Kansas as one of 12 communities for manufacturing investment

By: KAKE News Email
By: KAKE News Email

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

Washington (AP) -- The Department of Commerce has announced that South Kansas has been designated a "manufacturing community."

The designation means the region is under elevated consideration to receive federal funding to invest in manufacturing under the Investing in Manufacturing Communities Partnership.

The partnership uses the resources of federal departments and agencies to support local economic development plans.

It's an effort by the Obama administration to boost manufacturing across the country through the $1.3 billion porgram. Nearly 650,000 jobs have been created through the program over the last 5 years.

South Kansas is just one of 12 communities who have been chosen. Other areas include southwest Alabama, Southern California, northwest Georgia, the Chicago Metro area, greater Portland, Maine, southeastern Michigan, the New York Finger Lakes region, southwestern Ohio's aerospace region, the Tennessee Valley, the Washington Puget South region and the Milwaukee area.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 260994581 -
Gray Television, Inc.