Sedgwick County Reminds Residents Of New Fireworks Laws

By: News Release Email
By: News Release Email

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

Friday, July 2, 2010

Sedgwick County has new laws regarding fireworks usage in the “unincorporated” areas of Sedgwick County. These laws only apply to those
residents who live in the unincorporated areas.

“Unincorporated” defined is: if you are not within the city limits of any city in Sedgwick County, you are considered a resident of unincorporated Sedgwick County.

The County change in law has nothing to do with the law in the Wichita city limits.

The laws regarding fireworks in the unincorporated areas reflect those of the state of Kansas: all fireworks classified as consumer (1.4g) fireworks by DOT are specifically permitted, except certain rockets. Any rockets mounted on a wire or stick, or any devices containing such rockets are specifically prohibited.

The fireworks you buy outside of Wichita are very likely not legal in Wichita.

The fireworks you buy in the city limits of Wichita will be legal in Wichita. Please check local ordinances for your city of residence about what is legal or not.

Also, please remember – don’t give sparklers to young children or any other fireworks.

Have a safe and enjoyable Independence Day!

More information, as well as a fireworks safety video and printable fireworks safety tips are available on the Sedgwick County website.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 97685884 -