More Counties Added To Drought List

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

Governor Graves has placed 83 counties under a state drought warning because of damage to crops, livestock and surface water supplies.

Graves also asks for federal help, including a request for federal disaster status. That would trigger the release of grants and low-interest loans.

Graves says the situation has intensified since his warning for 61 counties four weeks ago. He says the farm economy has lost hundreds of millions of dollars.

Included in new warning are most of the big cities in Douglas, Johnson, Sedgwick, Shawnee and Wyandotte counties. The warning also applies to the Lower Arkansas, Missouri and Kansas-Lower Republican river basins.

The Kansas Water Office classifies the drought as extreme in the Upper Republican, Solomon, Upper Arkansas and Cimarron river basins. Problems are rated severe in the Smoky Hill-Saline basin.

KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 48552 -
Gray Television, Inc.