104 Kansas Counties Declared Disaster Areas Due To Drought

By: KAKE News Email
By: KAKE News Email

Stay up-to-date with KAKE News:

January 9, 2013

The U.S. Department of Agriculture designated 88 Kansas counties as primary disaster areas and 16 Kansas counties and contiguous disaster areas, making qualified farmers and ranchers in designated counties eligible for low-interest emergency loans through the USDA Farm Service Agency.

Doniphan County in far Northeast Kansas is the only Kansas county that did not receive a federal disaster declaration.

“We are entering the third consecutive year of a severe drought. While we cannot make it rain, it is imperative for everyone to continue working together to deliver relief and assistance to drought-
stricken farmers and ranchers,” Kansas Governor Sam Brownback said.

Nationwide, USDA declared 597 counties in 14 states as primary disaster areas. This is the first federal disaster declaration made by USDA in 2013.

Governor Brownback will meet with the Kansas Drought Response Team on Friday, Jan. 11, 2013, to receive updates from key state and federal leaders on the increasing toll the drought is taking on
Kansas. As the drought persists, Governor Brownback said it is imperative to continue monitoring precipitation levels, soil moisture content, stream flow and reservoir levels as well crop conditions
across the state.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KAKE TV 1500 N. West Street Wichita, KS 67203-1323 (316) 943-4221
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 186228271 - kake.com/a?a=186228271
Gray Television, Inc.